Chicken with Apple and Sweet Potato REVIEW

Last week I attempted to make 9 crock pot meals in an hour.  I fell short, but considered two hours (includes chopping and other prep) to be a reasonable compromise.  I also loved that my kitchen was not a disaster afterwards. 20170217_125124.jpg (For list of the recipes see: https://journeywithjewels.wordpress.com/2017/02/17/does-it-work-10-freezer-meals-prepared-in-an-hour/ )

20170220_084842.jpgI sat the frozen ziploc in the refrigerator overnight so that it would thaw enough to not still be in the same flat shape inside the crock pot.  20170220_084955.jpgIt cooked on low for the full 8 hours suggested. I stirred it once, but I do not feel that was necessary and would cook fine unsupervised.

Now, it is time for the ultimate test: Did it taste good?  Unfortunately, for my family it was not a hit. To enjoy this meal, you must really like the taste of sweet potatoes because it has a strong overall flavor.  I do like them very much, the rest of the family, not so much (needed brown sugar). Also, to enjoy this recipe you need to like curry and ginger, which I do not.

20170220_140154.jpgIt was an interesting meal and one I am glad that I tried, but I would not make it again anytime soon.  (I have a few once-a-year-foods that I force on my family to broaden their taste pallet, I could include this recipe in this category)

 

Chicken with Apple and Sweet Potato
Freeze in a bag:
1-lb boneless chicken, cubed
2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
1 cup unsweetened Apple Sauce
1/2 cup onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp Curry Powder
1/2 tsp ground ginger
salt and pepper to taste
Cook on low for 8 hours.
Serve with rice.

Leave a comment